828-400-9029 | [email protected]
828-734-3436 | [email protected]

Buncombe County Communities

Learn More
Biltmore Forest
Learn More
Black Mountain
Learn More
Learn More
Learn More
Learn More

Buncombe County, nicknamed “Land of the Sky” for its rugged mountain beauty, is located in the Mountain region of western North Carolina. Buncombe’s land includes parts of the Great Craggy Mountains and the Blue Ridge Mountains, and a section of the Eastern Continental Divide passes through it. Buncombe County was formed from Burke and Rutherford Counties in 1791. It was named for Edward Buncombe, a Revolutionary War colonel. Its earliest residents were the Cherokee Indians, who were later joined by Scottish, German, and English settlers, who came to populate the region.

The various townships/communities that make up Buncombe County are:

  • Asheville
  • Avery Creek
  • Bent Creek
  • Biltmore Forest
  • Black Mountain
  • Broad River
  • Fairview
  • Flat Creek
  • French Broad
  • Hazel
  • Ivy
  • Leicester
  • Limestone
  • Lower Hominy
  • Montreat
  • Weaverville
  • Woodfin
  • Alexander
  • Arden
  • Barnardsville
  • Candler
  • Enka
  • Flat Creek
  • Forks of Ivy
  • JupiterLeicester
  • Ridgecrest
  • Skyland
  • Stocksville
  • Reems Creek
  • Royal Pines
  • Sandy Mush
  • Swannanoa
  • Woodfin
  • Upper Hominy

Buying a Home

Looking to
buy a home?
View Guide

Becoming a Resident

Get all the
basic information
Learn The Basics

Local Businesses

Discover what the
community has to offer
Find local Amenities
Shopping Basket